The social networking site Facebook is in hot water with privacy advocates after asking users to be just a little too social.
The popular Facebook site has started asking the hundreds of millions of users of its cell phone application to enable its new Photo Sync option, a setting that will automatically upload every image taken with a mobile device to the social network’s vast data servers.
Once Photo Synch is enabled, each and every image taken by a cell phone’s camera is automatically sent to Facebook’s servers and uploaded to a private album for that user to later log-in and review. Should the user then decide they want certain pictures to go public, a click of the mouse from their computer will allow for the image to be made viewable to a select circle of friends; if no action is taken, the image will remain reserved only for the person who owns the profile — and Facebook.
Even if a Facebook user who’s enabled the website’s new Photo Sync service choses to keep all images private, those personal pictures are still sent over to the social networking site and stored on their computers. From there, Facebook can still steal the image’s geolocation data and use it to keep track of where its users are and whom they’re posing with.